The Ghost That Hums by Miranda Pikul

Now available for preorder: at https://www.mirandapikul.com/book

*

*

*

Miranda’s flowing verses dance from one line to the next, often without punctuation, through images in a painter’s mind. Her synesthetic meditations accept the unlikely couple – pain and beauty – walking together with casual awe through nature’s wonders.
She pauses in the precipices of memory, observing transformation with an introvert’s sensitivity to light and celestial signifiers. Everything and everyone keeps moving, changeable as weather, all of it beyond control – of course we are anxious.
An interconnected wisdom is modestly revealed with tender awareness of the life breathing all around her – not only the plants and animals and people, but even the rocks, waves, and raindrops, dishes, streetlamps, and paint chips send energy out into the world.
Ultimately, she plants a hope that some magic might happen if we all stopped what we were doing, went outside and looked up at the sky at the same time.

– Alicia Grega (Miranda’s mom)

To be fair, she didn’t ask me for a blurb for her book. And she’s under no obligation to actually use it. Maybe it’s too silly to print “praise from my mom,” on a book. Understand, I do take both Miranda and her work very seriously. I admire her for self-publishing and not spending the next decade trying to shape herself into what some publisher thinks she needs to be in order to sell books. Writing blurbs like this is something I can do, so I did. I spent hours with her poems, with my editor brain turned off, just taking in what she created, grateful for the opportunity to get to know this beautiful brain & heart better. That she happens to be my daughter is astonishing.